Gedichtendag

“Ik heb geen gedicht voor gedichtendag” zei ik vanmorgen tegen de jongste aan de ontbijttafel, waarop ze dit uit de bewaarde bestanden op haar telefoon toverde :

Caged Bird

A free bird leaps on the back of the wind

and floats downstream till the current ends

and dips his wing in the orange sun rays

and dares to claim the sky

***

But a bird thad stalks down his narrow cage

can seldom see through his bars of rage

His wings are clipped and his feet are tied

so he opens his throat to sing.

***

The caged bird sings with a fearful trill

of things unknown but longed for still

and his tune is heard on the distant hill

for the caged bird sings of freedom.

***

The free bird thinks of another breeze

and the trade winds soft through the sighing trees

and the fat worms waiting on a dawn bright lawn

and he names the sky his own.

***

But a caged bird stands on the grave of dreams

his shadow shouts on a nightmare scream

his wings are clipped and his feet are tied

so he opens his throat to sing.

***

The caged bird sings with a fearful trill

of things unknown but longed for still

and his tune is heard on the distant hill

for the caged bird sings of freedom.

***

Maya Angelou

Waarvoor dank dochter!

En nu ik de Wiki-pagina van de schrijfster lees bedenk ik me dat ik gisteren in de kringwinkel een turf van een boek (met verzameld werk) van haar in mijn handen heb gehad.

Toeval bestaat niet…

 

7 gedachtes over “Gedichtendag

  1. Gedichtendag is verdorie helemaal aan me voorbij gegaan.
    Ik zou mezelf wel voor het hoofd kunnen slaan.
    Doch door op de valreep je fijne log te lezen,
    bracht je alsnog poëzie in ’t hart van den dezen.

Wat ben ik blij dat u reageert !

